Opinions


OPINIONS 10/15/18 8:00am

EDITORIAL: Diversify your connections at Elon

Amid controversy surrounding immigration policies and discrimination against vulnerable populations, we, now more than ever, need civil spaces to address uncomfortable issues affecting our campus. 


OPINIONS 10/15/18 8:00am

BENSON: Stay civil on Facebook

You’re scrolling through your Facebook feed when you stumble upon a controversial video shared by your lab partner from your sophomore year of high school. They had received over 40 comments from adversaries who evidently think their opinion is superior and have a little too much free time during their lunch break. 


OPINIONS 9/30/18 3:15pm

WILKES: Accepting the right to one's opinion

I had to become comfortable with people disagreeing with me. This new understanding has taught me to be comfortable with the uncomfortable. I am not saying that you should be complicit, but people should have more understanding when it comes to those that differ from them.


OPINIONS 9/23/18 2:15pm

BROWN: Vacation Florence

Rather than using this natural disaster as a cute caption on your Instagram post or as an excuse to fly to your untouched home, use it as a chance to empathize with those around you. See being a temporary North Carolina resident as a privilege and an opportunity to serve the state during its loss.


OPINIONS 9/13/18 12:00am

FLECK: A column about an op-ed

President Trump called the ghostwriter “gutless.” He shamed “the failing New York Times” and other media outlets, as he has done so many times, on principle of being news organizations. In addressing the Op-Ed, he assured his crowd that the media would have nothing to write about in the coming years.  Let me tell you that he couldn’t be more wrong.


OPINIONS 9/12/18 12:00pm

OPINION: Be great on your own terms

We are often baited into thinking that “success” is defined by an expansive trophy case or the pieces of paper that hang on one’s wall in their home office. And while undoubtedly those are truly amazing feats, the goal, the award, is not what makes you successful.


OPINIONS 9/12/18 10:30am

EDITORIAL: Why a Liberal Arts education is important

It’s easy to doubt the importance of a liberal arts education in everyday life, especially when weighing the value of certain courses for potential career paths. But we should take advantage of ways in which this type of education can help us advance in life, both personally and professionally.


OPINIONS 9/12/18 8:00am

WILKES: Vote to change your community

The importance of one’s vote is often overlooked, under-appreciated and undervalued. People want to stay away from politics because it is a polarizing subject, and while someone may not want to talk about politics, this doesn't mean they shouldn’t vote. Voting is a pivotal part of a democracy, and it is another outlet for students to express their political ideologies and make social changes. 


OPINIONS 9/5/18 12:00am

EDITORIAL: Mental health should matter to you

It’s important that we treat a mental health problem at its onset. Various treatment options exist, but the crucial step is recognizing that we can seek help. If we don’t, we risk decreasing our state of wellbeing, academic performance, and personal motivation to achieve our goals.